Possible Fix for Final Fantasy VII PC + Windows XP

Here's something I read in another forum I visit. Note that I haven't tested this (yet), so I can't confirm if it works. s Badaro Quote:Originally posted by JedwinHey, so, I've tracked down the problem with Chocobo races under NT/2000/XP.

Windows Games 5469 This topic was started by ,



data/avatar/default/avatar16.webp

22 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-02-18
Here's something I read in another forum I visit. Note that I haven't tested this (yet), so I can't confirm if it works.
 
[]s Badaro
 

Quote:Originally posted by JedwinHey, so, I've tracked down the problem with Chocobo races under NT/2000/XP. The problem looks to me like a NULL pointer dereference. Specifically, they are doing:
 
Code:
 
mov ecx, dword ptr [0e626d8h]
mov dx, word ptr [eax + ecx + 0186b8h]
 
There are no other accesses to the variable at 0e626d8h, which essentially, since it is in the uninitialized data segment, means that it is a NULL pointer. Under Windows 95/98, for no apparent reason, the pages corresponding to the addresses from 0x10000-0x20000 are mapped to something which looks to me like 16-bit code. So, since the offset puts it safely into that region, it doesn't crash. Now, it look like maybe this means that it has a bug under Windows 9x, but since I don't know how this value should be set, I couldn't fix it to correctly set this value. But, under the assumption that the values that are getting pulled in are just garbage (which again, appears to hold under Windows 9x), I did the next best thing. I changed the 0x186b8 to a value that puts it inside the FF7 executable itself, so that it still has some values there to read.
 
I'm not sure of the best way to distribute information on this patch, but if anybody cares to make this change on their own and try it out, the following instructions should suffice:
 
First off, copy ff7.exe to ff7.bak or whatever.
Now, I'm using an unpatched FF7 executable plucked from the Eidos Platinum Collection version of FF7. The file size is 5820416, crc32 is E79D5195, and md5 sum is e1a6875b37540d616d34f14102d9c2fc. If you have the same executable that I do, the change you need to make is at offset 3641e6, otherwise, you'll have to search for the right bytes to change. So, now, open up ff7.exe in your favorite hex editor, and find the bytes Code:
b8 86 01 00
. Again, if you have the same version of the executable that I do, you will find these bytes at 0x3641e6 from the beginning of the file. Change them to Code:
00 00 50 00
. That is sufficient to get the chocobo races working on my machine. (Note that there may be other difficulties associated with running FF7 under Windows NT/2K/XP, though many of those are solved by the Application Compatibility Toolkit from Microsoft.)

Participate on our website and join the conversation

You have already an account on our website? Use the link below to login.
Login
Create a new user account. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds.
Register
This topic is archived. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast.

Responses to this topic



data/avatar/default/avatar39.webp

3867 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-02-04
Which forum?


data/avatar/default/avatar32.webp

989 Posts
Location -
Joined 2001-08-14
I see it but I don't believe it.
 
IT WORKS! IT REALLY WORKS!
 
8)
 
If you grab the patch executable of that second link (which I did) it'll make the process a hell of a lot easier.


data/avatar/default/avatar19.webp

690 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-05-21
WOAH!!!!
 
It works! Thanks


data/avatar/default/avatar17.webp

757 Posts
Location -
Joined 2000-10-14
This is probably the best development since sliced bread.
 
Thnx badaro ... I think alot of us owe you one!


data/avatar/default/avatar22.webp

1438 Posts
Location -
Joined 2001-01-04
i love people who can take the time to do this
 
 
he should send this to the developers of the game!


data/avatar/default/avatar30.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2002-07-02
Actually, Eidos has been very forth-coming and, dare I say it, enthusiastic about the development of the chocobo patch. Probably because they're pretty tired from all the mails from angry gamers, too
 
And just for reference, the direct link to the latest chocobo patch: http://www.qhimm.com/ff7_chocobo_patch.zip
 
If nothing else, this shows that all hope is not lost just because the official sources can't help you. Only downside is that people who still can't get it to work started mailing me instead of Eidos about it... =(


data/avatar/default/avatar22.webp

52 Posts
Location -
Joined 2001-08-08
Hehe, way to go
 
I read about this patch a little while ago on EidosGames.com.
Thank you for your effort in helping to make FFVII work on XP.
 
If soundfonts could work well for FFVII under XP, the game would be at 'perfect' level.


data/avatar/default/avatar10.webp

46 Posts
Location -
Joined 2002-05-20
This game has never given me a problem in XP, after switching compatibility to Windows 98/Windows Me


data/avatar/default/avatar19.webp

76 Posts
Location -
Joined 2001-12-04
123: You haven't made it to the Chochobo races yet. Or the minisub.
 
I'm gonna give this patch a whirl this weekend. I have the old 4 disk version of FF7, so I'll load up the Riva/Laptop patch, and hammer on it.
 
Kudos! to whoever has been sloughing through assembler code to find this null ref...


data/avatar/default/avatar35.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-08-17
Hey Guys, i installed this patch and to my relief it worked..BUT when i go to the 3rd disc and wanted to start breeding, the same thing happened when i went to race! I hope this isn't to complicated to fix, i was so happy when it worked the first time.
 
 


data/avatar/default/avatar19.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2004-10-09
FF7 on PC, Win XP - problem is that the game crashes in that point where Cloud first time visits Shinra mansions basement.recently i had a problem with chocobo races but patch fixed that.what should i do?


data/avatar/default/avatar38.webp

5 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-04-28
Hi, I'm having a problem with FF7 when I'm loading the movie to see the tiny bronco crash after defeating palmer. The game crashes and the movie doesn't load. I don't know much about computers to an extend and I'm not sure how to perform the more complicated fixes. What do you guys recommend I do?
 
Thanks.


data/avatar/default/avatar38.webp

5 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-04-28
Thanks a bunch man that will really help I hope.


data/avatar/default/avatar38.webp

5 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-04-28
I tried the XP patch and the Ultima version, neither work...


data/avatar/default/avatar13.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-09-23
hi look i'm not good with comps i would just like to know how to install and play FFVII for the PC on my Comp which is windows XP i don't know what patches i would need to dl in order to play the game and in looking at the movies on the disc 1 they all seem to be upside down is that just b/c i don't have the game installed??? thank u in advance to anyone that can help me.


data/avatar/default/avatar35.webp

5 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-10-14
Hey guys. I've had this game for a couple of weeks and im really eager to go on, but i have a problem getting the game to run after minimizing it. The screen turns black and the games still running. Any way to fix the minimize problem O.o?


data/avatar/default/avatar08.webp

1 Posts
Location -
Joined 2005-10-30
Well... i have windows 2k pro sp4 and... I just start the game, After the intro, you get the first enemy (2 marines) and when the round starts, ff7 just closes itself and i get back on my desktop.
I've tried installing the xp patch too, but same error and at the same point.
 
plz help me..