Windows 10 958 Published by

Microsoft has released Windows 10 October 2020 Update Build 19042.508 to Windows insiders in the release preview channel.





Preparing the Windows 10 October 2020 Update Ready for Release

Hello Windows Insiders! We are continuing to prepare the Windows 10 October 2020 Update (version 20H2) to be ready for release. Today, we are releasing Build 19042.508 (KB4571756) to Windows Insiders in the Release Preview Channel. We believe that Build 19042.508 is the final build and still plan on continuing to improve the overall experience of the October 2020 Update on customers’ PCs as part of our normal servicing cadence.

Please note that the October 2020 Update will be offered to Insiders in the Release Preview Channel via our “seeker” experience in Windows Update at first. This means Insiders will need to go to Settings > Update & Security > Windows Update and choose to download and install 20H2. Once an Insider updates their PC to the October 2020 Update, they will continue to automatically receive new servicing updates through Windows Update (like the monthly update process).

We are also beginning to roll out the October 2020 Update automatically for Insiders who are in the Beta Channel. For Insiders who had not previously chosen to install the October 2020 Update previously – they will be automatically offered it via Windows Update.

Known issue

Windows Insiders on Build 19042.508 in the Beta and Release Preview Channels who use Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) will be impacted by “Element not found” error when they try to start WSL. With the help of Insiders, we have identified the root cause of the issue and have created a fix which should be included in the next 20H2 servicing release shortly. Insiders who wish to be unblocked immediately can uninstall this build (KB4571756) which is a non-security update. You can view the GitHub issue where we are tracking this here.



Preparing the Windows 10 October 2020 Update Ready for Release